A! Magazine for the Arts

Applications accepted for Summer Music Institute Fellowship

January 9, 2007

CHATTANOOGA -- The Tennessee Alliance for Arts Educationprovides a service to the National Symphony Orchestraby recommending deserving students in Tennessee for the Symphony's Summer Music Institute at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington D.C. The Summer Music Institute is a four-week program for serious student instrumentalists interested in a career in music.

Application deadline is February 9: Materials must be submitted to the Tennessee Alliance of Arts Education by Friday, Feb. 9, 2007. For information about applications and auditions, contact Rodney Van Valkenburg at Rodneyvv@alliedartschattanooga.org or (423) 756-2787. Click here to download an application. Students will be notified of the results by March 30, 2007.

The fellowship provides the following benefits to students accepted into the program: Round-trip air transportation will be provided for students to and from Washington, DC, as well as housing, meals, and local transportation during their stay in our nation's capital. Participating students will also receive private lessons taught by a member of the National Symphony Orchestra, chamber music coaching by NSO musicians, master classes and seminars, attendance at selected rehearsals and performances of the NSO, participation in the NSO Summer Music Institute Orchestra, conducted by Elizabeth Schulze, performance opportunities in the D.C. metropolitan area, and exposure to internationally-renowned conductors, soloists, and musicians.

The program is open, by recorded audition, to students who are seriously considering orchestral music as a career and willing to devote themselves to a musical education, as follows:

- The Summer Institute is open to High School students in grades 9-12 (as of September 2007) and college students entering freshman or sophomore year (as of September 2007).

- National Trustees' fellowships may be awarded to students who play any of the following: violin, viola, cello, string bass, flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, French horn, trumpet, trombone, tuba, and harp (not eligible: guitar, saxophone, percussion, and piano).